•Homestead Exemption Application
In 1998, the legislature enacted a new homestead exemption for Maine residents. Most homeowners whose principal residence is in Maine are currently entitled to a $15,000 reduction in valuation (adjusted by the community’s ratio of valuation to actual market sales). To qualify, homeowners must fill out a simple form declaring property as their principal residence by April 1 in the tax year claimed. Once the application is filed, the exemption remains until the owner sells or changes their place of residence.
•Application for Veterans Exemption
•Application for Widow, Minor Child, or Widowed Parent of a Veteran
Generally, veterans who have reached the age of 62 and who have served in a federally recognized war period, as well as 100% disabled veterans, qualify for an exemption of $6,000 (adjusted by the community’s ratio of valuation to actual market sales). The widow, minor child or widowed parent of a veteran may qualify for this exemption as well. Proof of service and discharge, such as a copy of their DD214, is required. Deadline for filing of application is April 1. Contact the Assessor’s office at 829-2204 for additional information.
•Blind Exemption Application
People who have been declared legally blind by their physician are entitled to an exemption up to $4,000. Deadline for filing application is April 1. Contact the Assessor’s Office at 829-2204 for additional information.
The Town cannot grant real estate tax exemptions or tax reductions to selected properties. Article 9 section 9 of the State constitution states that “the legislature shall never, in any manner, suspend or surrender the power of taxation”. Only the legislature can add or remove rules for real estate taxation. The State does, however, provide a few avenues for reducing one’s taxes such as the Tree Growth program or the Farm and Open Space program.